The Vocal Recall app will require access to your microphone in order to record audio. This audio is then sent to our server over a secure connection, where it is stored securely in an encrypted format. You have the right at any time to delete this audio permanently from our server by accessing your history list and deleting the audio. Your audio will not be shared with any third parties.
The encryption keys for decrypting the audio are stored in the URL in the QR code, and we do not store this anywhere except in your QR code and in an encrypted record of our own (the private key for decryption of which is kept securely off our server). This means that the URLs, and consequently the audio associated with them, will not be indexed by search engines and cannot be found by accident.
In some rare situations, the encryption may be compromised, and for this reason the encryption should be treated as a precaution rather than a cast-iron guarantee of privacy. These situations include:
- Some QR-code readers expose the encryption key to our servers during playback. We have yet to find a Qr-code reader that does this and still plays the audio back successfully.
- If there is an error playing the audio back, our error-tracking software will capture all of the data associated with the QR-code, including the encryption key.
In order to send QR codes we require your email address, which we keep in our database. We will not use this email address to contact you without first asking your permission.
Terms and Conditions
- Any content that you upload to the Vocal Recall server must comply with copyright law.
- Do not store any confidential or sensitive information on the Vocal Recall server as it can be accessed by anyone who has the QR code and this should not be seen as a secure means of sending information.
- The name Vocal Recall and the branding for Vocal Recall are trademarked and may not be used without our express permission. Please email email@example.com with any questions regarding this.